About us:

Ipswich BMX Club is the UK's longest running Bicycle Motocross Club. The club formed in 1980 and has been holding events at its Landseer park track ever since.

Join us every Tuesday evening between April & September & selected Sundays through the winter for gate practice & coaching.

The club welcomes new members, young or old. For more information about the sport of BMX go to the Useful Links section or contact us via email: info@ipswichbmx.co.uk

Tuesday, 28 April 2015

Go Ride Summer Series Round 2 28.04.15

Ipswich BMX Club recently staged the second round of its British Cycling Go-Ride Racing, Summer Series. This was the first club race of the year as the previous round had to be cancelled due to start gate problems.
Glorious sunshine bathed the clubs Landseer Park track & a cold, strong wind blew riders down the first straight.Racing consisted of three classes of four motos (heats).  Riders were ranked based on their finishing positions in each of the four motos.
The first (formula 3) saw a good mixture of young & old riders of similar ability race against each other. Jen Cannons came back well from injury to take the class win ahead of James Bowater who pushed her all the way in second.
Formula 2 was to be a highly competitive class. Jon Hambling & Ed Cannons raced hard & finished 2nd & 3rd respectively. Adam Gilbert was a cut above the rest though winning each of his four motos to finish first.
The final class of the evening was formula 1. John Lillingstone finished ahead of Shaun Andrews in second with Andrew Ashford more than pleased with his 3rd place finish.
A big thank you to all those who helped on the evening, including those who made the journey from Braintree. Round two of the Summer Series is at Landseer Park, Ipswich on May 12st. Registration closes at 6.30pm.

Formula 3
1              Jen Cannons
2              James Bowater
3              Macey Hinton

Formula 2
1              Adam Gilbert
2              Seb Hambling
3              Ed Cannons
4              Abi Pike
5              Roxy Hinton
6              Thomas Jacobs
7              Theo Paul

Formula 1
1              John Lillingstone
2              Shaun Andrews
3              Andrew Ashford
4              Alfie Cole

Formula 3
Close racing in Formula 2
Ashford - RAD